The three Monarchies in the Nordic Countries are very popular The Danish Royal family The Swedish Crown Princess with family The Swedish Royal famíly The Danish Crown Prince and his family

Royal Nordic Monarchies

There are three kingdoms in the Nordic countries, Sweden, Denmark and Norway. Denmark has a queen, and Sweden and Norway have a king.

The Nordic monarchies are all world-famous for their royal families and history. 

The three Nordic countries are interesting places to experience royal monuments and palaces, such as Hamlets Kronborg Castle in Denmark, Drottningholm Castle in Sweden, and the Royal Palace in Oslo, Norway.

Many other exciting royal attractions exist in Copenhagen in Denmark, Stockholm in Sweden, and Oslo in  Norway.


The Monarchy in Sweden

The Swedish Monarchy is more than 1000 years old, and the current monarch in Sweden is HRH King Carl XVI Gustaf; he became King on 15 September 1973 after the death of his grandfather, Gustaf Vl Adolf. Sweden was a kingdom in the 1st century. The monarch is no longer the commander-in-chief of the Swedish Armed Forces, but he has retained the honorary rank of a four-star admiral in the Swedish Army and Air Force.

Sweden became the first monarchy to change its succession rites so that the monarch's firstborn child was heir to the throne, regardless of gender. 

The Royal Palace, known as Stockholm Palace, is the King's official residence. The Palace is located on Stadsholmen, known as Gamla Stan, in Stockholm's national capital city.

The monarchy in Denmark

The Kingdom of Denmark is one of the oldest monarchies in the world. The first royal house of Denmark was established in the 10th century by a Viking king called Gorm the Old, and today, the Danish monarch, HRH Queen Margrethe II, is a descendant of the old Viking king.

Denmark is a constitutional monarchy, meaning the monarch cannot perform political acts independently. The Queen's main tasks are representing Denmark abroad and being a figurehead at home.

The Danish Royal Family and Monarchy is a popular institution in Denmark - and is highly respected and supported by nearly all the Danes.


HRH Queen Margrethe II

Many Danes are proud of their queen and their royal monarchy. Queen Margrethe is hugely respected for her intellectual prowess and artistic abilities, including working as an illustrator and set designer at the Pantomime Theatre in Tivoli in Copenhagen.

The HRH Queen Margrethe II married a French diplomat, Count Henri de Laborde de Monpezat, now known as HRH Prince Henrik. They have two sons, HRH Crown Prince Frederik and HRH Prince Joachim. Related to the Faroe Islands' history, Greenland still belongs to the kingdom of Denmark.

Amalienborg Palace in Copenhagen is the official residence of the Queen. Still, there are also other Palaces in Denmark where the royal family stayed during the year, such as Fredensborg Palace, Marselisborg Palace and Gråsten Palace.


Monarchy in Norway

Norway is a constitutional, hereditary monarchy. According to the Constitution, executive power rests with the king. Still, the Council of the State governs as the Norwegian Parliament (Stortinget) has the power.

King Harald Fairhair initiated the Kingdom of Norway in the 9th century.  The Kingdom of Norway obtained independence from Sweden in 1905.

Today in Norway, HRH King Harald V is king. He and his wife, HRH Queen Sonja, have two children, HRH Princess Märtha Louise and HRH Crown Prince Haakon, and they live in Oslo at the Palace.