Visa to Norway

The visa rules in Norway is depending on your purpose with you visit.

Some people can visit Norway without a visa, but most people from countries outside the EU/EEA must apply for a visitor's visa.

Most Western nationals in the Nordic countries don’t need a tourist visa for less than three months. Among those nationalities who need a Schengen visa are Chinese and Indians.

All Nordic countries (Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland) are part of the European Union's Schengen agreement, which means you do not need to show your passport when you travel to Norway from other Schengen countries. You must still bring your European Union ID card or passport to prove your identity.


Schengen countries

There are 26 members of the Schengen area:
Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.


Other nationalities

For all other nationals, a valid passport is necessary. For some citizens, a visa is required as well. You can get more information about this on this page under related links.


Entry to Svalbard

Svalbard is not a part of the Schengen area, so all foreign visitors must bring their passports here. The European Health Insurance Card has no validity in the Svalbard Islands. Therefore it is strongly recommended to purchase travel insurance before you go there.

 Get more info about the Schengen Area