Visa to Finland

What visa you need for visiting Finland depends on your nationality and purpose.

Entry to Finland

Most Western nationals don’t need a tourist visa for stays of less than three-month in the Nordic countries. Among those nationalities who need a Schengen visa are Chinese and Indians. When you travel to Finland, you will need a valid national passport or another equivalent official document that satisfactorily establishes your identity and nationality.

Finland is a member of the European Union`s Schengen agreement, which essentially means that passport controls have been eliminated between Schengen countries in Europe. You do not have to stop or show a passport if you are travelling between Finland and Sweden, and Finland and Norway as a citizen from a Schengen country. You still have to bring your passport if you need to prove your identity.

 » See more about Finland here

Schengen countries

Following countries are a member of the European Union Schengen Agreement: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Other nationalities

If you are not a citizen of Finland or another European Economic Area (EEA) country, you may also need a visa.