Visa to Iceland

Most Western nationals don’t need a tourist visa for stays of less than 3 months int the Nordic countries. Among those nationalities who need a Schengen visa are Chinese and Indians.

All travellers must ensure that they have a valid passport. We recommend that a passport is valid for at least three months after departure.  

Iceland is a member of the Schengen Agreement, which means you do not need to be checked by the border control with passport in between the 26 countries within the agreement.

Schengen countries

Countries which are member of the European Union Schengen Agreement: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Other nationalities

For all other nationals, a valid passport is necessary. For some citizens, a visa is required as well. Find more information under "related links."

More information about the Schengen area