Bank & Currency in Iceland

The Banks in Iceland are generally open from Monday to Friday from 09.00-16.00. Currency exchange is available at all banks around the country.

In Airport Keflavik you will find exchange services outside regular banking hours at Landsbankinn during the hours of 05:30-17:00 and 21:00-02:00 (1st floor) or 05:30-17:30 and 22:00-01:00 (2nd floor- departure hall).

In Iceland the monetary unit are called Krona(ISK).  The coins in circulation are 1, 5, 10, 50 and 100 Krónas. The notes are 500, 1000, 2000 and 5000 Krónas.