Bank & Currency in Greenland


Greenland is included in the Danish national community, and a common currency is thus used called “the Danish krone”.  One krone is divided into 100 Øre. Coins are circulated in the following denominations: 50 Øre (copper) 1 Krone, 2 Kroner, 5 Kroner (silver, each with a hole in the centre) 10 and 20 Kroner (both brass). Regarding bank notes they are issued in denominations of: 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1,000 Kroner.


You will find there are banks in all major towns. Grønlandsbanken has branches in Nuuk, Sisimiut, Oaqortoq, Ilulissat and Maniitsoq. KNI/POST represents the bank in other towns and villages.

Banking hours are usually Monday -Thursday 9:30 -15:30 and Friday 9:30 -15:00. It is also possible to change money at hotels.